

## STATE OF TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND CONSERVATION

Division of Remediation, Oak Ridge Office 761 Emory Valley Road Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37830



May 15, 2025

Mr. William W. Wheeler
Manager, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Site Office
U.S. Department of Energy Office of
Science
P.O. Box 2008
Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37831

Mr. Steven A. Clemons
Acting ORNL Portfolio Federal Project
Director
U.S. Department of Energy
Oak Ridge Operations
200 Administration Road
PO Box 2001
Oak Ridge, TN 37831

Ms. Joanna Hardin
Acting, Y-12 Portfolio Federal Project
Director
U.S. Department of Energy
Oak Ridge Operations
200 Administration Road
PO Box 2001
Oak Ridge, TN 37831

Mr. Mark McIntosh
Acting, ETTP Portfolio Federal Project
Director
U.S. Department of Energy
Oak Ridge Operations
200 Administration Road
PO Box 2001
Oak Ridge, TN 37831

Dear Mr. Wheeler, Mr. Clemons, Ms. Hardin, and Mr. McIntosh

Site Treatment Plan for Mixed Waste on the U.S. Department of Energy Oak Ridge Reservation – Submittal of the Annual Update and Semiannual Progress Report

The Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC) acknowledges the receipt of the Fiscal Year (FY) 2025 Annual Update of the Site Treatment Plan (STP) and the Semiannual Progress Report for the Period April 1, 2023, to September 30, 2023. These submittals were received by the TDEC Divisions of Remediation (DoR) and Solid Waste Management (DSWM) in the following manner:

 The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Oak Ridge Office of Environmental Management (OREM)'s STP Annual Update (Version 29.0) Sections 1, 2, 3, 4A, 5, Appendix A, and the portion of Semiannual Progress Report with a cover letter

- dated October 31, 2024, from James Daffron, Joanna Hardin, and Brian Henry to Revendra Awasthi and Kristof Czartoryski.
- DOE Oak Ridge National Laboratory Site Office (OSO)'s STP Annual Update (Version 29.0), Section 4.b - Transuranic Mixed Waste Streams, and the portion of the Semiannual Progress Report with a cover letter dated October 29, 2024, from William W. Wheeler to Revendra Awasthi and Kristof Czartoryski.

The OREM's portion of the STP Annual Update was returned by TDEC with comments for resubmittal. DOE-OREM resubmitted STP Annual Update (Version 29.1) with a letter dated March 21, 2025, from Steven A. Clemons, Joanna Hardin, and Mark McIntosh to Revendra Awasthi and Kristof Czartoryski, TDEC.

In the December 6, 2024, letter from R. Awasthi and K. Czartoryski to M. William W. Wheeler, Manager, Oak Ridge National Laboratory Site Office, TDEC requested resubmittal of the OSO's portion of the STP Annual Update to incorporate the STP required formatting conventions. The OSO resubmitted its portion of the STP Annual Update with an email dated January 21, 2025, from Rachael Keen to R. Awasthi and K. Czartoryski.

TDEC approves this Annual Update of the Site Treatment Plan (STP) and Semiannual Progress Reports for the Period April 1, 2023, to September 30, 2023. The approved FY2025 Annual Update of STP consists of OREM's Annual Update (Version 29.1) Sections 1, 2, 3, 4A, 5, Appendices A, B and C, and OSO's Annual Update (Version 29.0), Section 4.b and includes Transuranic (TRU) Sludge milestones from the conditionally approved Annual Update, Version 28.0.

TDEC appreciates collaborative efforts on the part of the DOE that culminated in finalization of this Annual Update.

If there are any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Revendra Awasthi at Revendra.Awasthi@tn.gov or 865-306-1862; or Kristof Czartoryski at Kristof.Czartoryski@tn.gov or 865-250-9705.

Respectfully

Revendra Awasthi STP Coordinator

Division of Solid Waste Management

Kristof Czartoryski

STP Manager

Division of Remediation

Oak Ridge Office

## Mr. Wheeler, Mr. Clemons, Ms. Hardin, Mr. McIntosh May 15, 2025 Page 3 of 3

Michele Branton, SC-OSO ec: Chad K. Huffman, SC-OSO Erik Olds, DOE-EM Erin Sutton, DOE-EM Steve Cooke, DOE-EM Chloe Ashley, YFO Steven Stone, YFO Payton Bradford, OGC Lisa Hughey, DSWM Beverly Philpot, DSWM Steve Sanders, DoR Robert S. Wilkinson, DoR Randy Young, DoR-OR Wesley Goddard, ORNL John Witzeman, UCOR Wayne Carlton, CNS

xc: Wade Creswell, ORRCA
Amy Fitzgerald, City of Oak Ridge
Terry Frank, ORRCA
Warren Gooch, ORRCA



COBA

to the second

ASTRO- CONSTRUCTOR