

STATE OF TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND CONSERVATION

Division of Remediation - Oak Ridge 761 Emory Valley Road Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37830

April 16, 2025

Mr. Roger Petrie
Federal Facility Agreement Manager
Oak Ridge Office of Environmental Management
U.S. Department of Energy
Post Office Box 2001
Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37831

Dear Mr. Petrie

Re: Federal Facility Agreement Milestone Revision Request for the Molten Salt Reactor Experiment (MSRE)

The Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC), Division of Remediation-Oak Ridge Office, has reviewed the above referenced milestone revision request letter from Steven A. Clemons and Roger B. Petrie to Samantha Urquhart-Foster and Randy Young dated April 2, 2025. The request has been reviewed pursuant to Section XVIII, *Scoping Work Priorities*, and Section XXX, *Extensions* of the Federal Facility Agreement (FFA) for the Oak Ridge Reservation.

Based on the review of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) submittal, TDEC requests DOE to schedule a meeting among the Federal Facility Agreement parties to discuss the proposed changes to the existing project implementation strategy, including the replacement of remedial action milestones with removal action milestones. TDEC looks forward to continued partnership with DOE and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to efficiently and effectively implement environmental remediation across the Oak Ridge Reservation.

Review of this request meets the review cycle protocol of 14 days. Questions or comments concerning the contents of this letter should be directed to Kristof Czartoryski at the above address or by phone at (865) 250-9705.

Sincerely

Randy C. Young FFA Project Manager

Division of Remediation - Oak Ridge Office

ec: Steven A. Clemons, DOE-OREM

Mike Vestal, DOE-OREM

Samantha Urquhart-Foster, EPA

Jon Richards, EPA

Jana Dawson, EPA

Erik Olds, DOE-OREM

Laura Wilkerson, DOE-OREM

Erin Sutton, DOE-OREM

Melyssa Noe, DOE-OREM

Karen Thompson, DOE-OREM

Elizabeth Phillips, DOE-OREM

Laura Hedrick, DOE-OREM

Sam Scheffler, DOE-OREM

Jessica Core, TDEC

Eileen Marcillo, TDEC

Kristof Czartoryski, TDEC

Akhalesh Bisaria, UCOR

Rhonda Butler, UCOR

Sid Garland, UCOR

Russell Lum, UCOR

Tanya Salamacha, UCOR

Sid Garland, UCOR

Sarah Springer, UCOR

Chloe Ashley, DOE-YFO

Brent Griffin, Pro2Serve

Amy Jerrolds, Pro2Serve

Bill McMillan, Pro2Serve

OREM Mailroom

ETTPDMC@orcc.doe.gov

YFOCorrespondence@yfo.doe.gov

Shelley Kimel, ORSSAB

XC:

Wade Creswell, ORRCA
Amy Fitzgerald, City of Oak Ridge
Terry Frank, ORRCA
Warren Gooch, ORRCA

