

STATE OF TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND CONSERVATION

Division of Remediation, Oak Ridge Office 761 Emory Valley Road Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37830



March 27, 2025

Mr. Roger Petrie
Federal Facility Agreement Manager
Oak Ridge Office of Environmental Management
U.S. Department of Energy
Post Office Box 2001
Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37831

Dear Mr. Petrie

Re: Federal Facility Agreement Milestone Extension Request for the Molten Salt Reactor Experiment Remedial Investigation Report and Feasibility Study Addendum

The Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC), Division of Remediation-Oak Ridge Office, has reviewed the above referenced extension request letter from M. Vestal and R. Petrie to S. Urquhart-Foster and R. Young dated March 12, 2025. The request has been reviewed pursuant to Section XXX of the Federal Facility Agreement (FFA) for the Oak Ridge Reservation.

Based on the review of the project implementation strategy provided in this extension request and to support its successful implementation, TDEC approves the following FFA Appendix E milestone extensions:

Remedial Investigation Report (RIR) D2 – new milestone date: October 5, 2025 Focused Feasibility Study (FFS) Addendum D1 – new milestone date: January 4, 2026

To assist the U.S. Department of Energy in the implementation strategy, TDEC requests meeting to resolve comments on the RIR D1.

Review of this extension request meets the review cycle protocol of 14 days. Questions or comments concerning the contents of this letter should be directed to Kristof Czartoryski at the above address or by phone at (865) 250-9705.

Sincerely

Randy Young Digitally signed by Randy Young Date: 2025.03.27 15:47:34 -04'00'

Randy C. Young FFA Project Manager Division of Remediation – Oak Ridge Office

ec: Steven A. Clemons, DOE

Mike Vestal, DOE

Samantha Urquhart-Foster, EPA

Jon Richards, EPA

Jana Dawson, EPA

Erin Sutton, DOE

Melyssa Noe, DOE

Karen Thompson, DOE

Elizabeth Phillips, DOE

Sam Scheffler, DOE

Jessica Core, TDEC

Eileen Marcillo, TDEC

Tanya Salamacha, UCOR

Sid Garland, UCOR

OREM Mailroom

Shelley Kimel, ORSSAB

Wade Creswell, ORRCA

XC:

Amy Fitzgerald, City of Oak Ridge

Terry Frank, ORRCA

Warren Gooch, ORRCA

