

STATE OF TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND CONSERVATION Division of Remediation, Oak Ridge Office 761 Emory Valley Road Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37830

December 11, 2024

Mr. Roger Petrie Oak Ridge Office of Environmental Management U.S. Department of Energy Post Office Box 2001 Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37831



Dear Mr. Petrie

Re: Federal Facility Agreement Milestone Extension Request for the Addendum to the Zone 1 Groundwater Plumes Remedial Investigation Work Plan for the K-1085 Old Firehouse Burn Area, East Tennessee Technology Park, Oak Ridge, Tennessee (DOE/OR/01-2903&D2/A2/R1)

The Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC), Division of Remediation-Oak Ridge Office, received the above referenced extension request (letter from J. Hardin and R. Petrie to S. Urquhart-Foster and R. Young) on December 9, 2024. As noted in the above reference, this extension request is a revised version to the one that was previously issued on November 25, 2024. The request has been reviewed pursuant to Section XXX of the Federal Facility Agreement for the Oak Ridge Reservation.

Based on review of the extension request letter, TDEC recognizes that additional time is needed to resolve responses to comments provided by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and TDEC on the Remedial Investigation Work Plan (RIWP) D2/A2. The State agrees with the good cause for extension included in the request and approves extending the milestone out 60 days from December 18, 2024, until February 16, 2025.

Review of this request meets the review cycle protocol of 14 days. Questions or comments concerning the contents of this letter should be directed to Jared Brabazon at the above address or by phone at (865) 201-2407.

Mr. Roger Petrie December 11, 2024 Page 2 of 2

Sincerely

Randy Young Digitally signed by Randy Young Date: 2024.12.10 11:16:51 -05'00'

Randy C. Young FFA Project Manager Division of Remediation – Oak Ridge Office

ec: Joanna Hardin – DOE Sam Scheffler – DOE Erin Sutton – DOE Samantha Urquhart-Foster – EPA Brian Begley – EPA Tanya Salamacha – UCOR Steve Conner – UCOR Sid Garland – UCOR Heather Lutz – TDEC ORSSAB OREM Mailroom

xc: Wade Creswell – ORRCA Amy Fitzgerald – ORRCA Terry Frank – ORRCA Warren Gooch – ORRCA