

STATE OF TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND CONSERVATION Division of Remediation, Oak Ridge Office 761 Emory Valley Road Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37830

November 20, 2024

Mr. Roger Petrie Federal Facility Agreement Manager Oak Ridge Office of Environmental Management U.S. Department of Energy Post Office Box 2001 Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37831 RECEIVE NOV 2 5 2024 COUNTY MAYOR'S OFFICE

## TDEC Approval: Fiscal Year 2024 Phased Construction Completion Report for the Oak Ridge Reservation Environmental Management Waste Management Facility (DOE/OR/01-2968&D2)

Dear Mr. Petrie

The Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC), Division of Remediation – Oak Ridge Office, received the revised (D2) Phased Construction Completion Report (PCCR) for the Environmental Management Waste Management Facility (EMWMF) on October 1, 2024. TDEC reviewed the document in accordance with the <u>Federal Facility Agreement (FFA) for the Oak Ridge Reservation (ORR)</u>. TDEC approves the plan based on resolution of the most significant <u>State comments</u> on the <u>draft (D1)</u>, although several comments remain unresolved.

TDEC appreciates the meeting held November 6, 2024, during which the FFA parties collaborated to resolve outstanding issues in future PCCRs. Successful resolution of concerns discussed during that meeting will enhance the value of future reports while minimizing the need for resolving additional regulatory comments.

Questions or clarification requests concerning the contents of this letter should be directed to Brad Stephenson at the above address, by phone at 865-352-1235, or by email at <u>brad.stephenson@tn.gov</u>.

Sincerely

Randy Young Digitally signed by Randy Young Date: 2024.11.19 08:51:02 -05'00'

Randy C. Young FFA Project Manager Division of Remediation – Oak Ridge Office

Mr. Roger Petrie November 20, 2024 Page 2 of 2

- ec: Dennis Mayton, DOE Brian Henry, DOE Sam Scheffler, DOE Erin Sutton, DOE John Sayer, EPA Samantha Urquhart- Foster, EPA Sid Garland, UCOR Tanya Salamacha, UCOR Ethan Sweet, TDEC OREM Mailroom ORSSAB
- xc: Wade Creswell, ORRCA Amy Fitzgerald, ORRCA Terry Frank, ORRCA Warren Gooch, ORRCA