

## STATE OF TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND CONSERVATION

Division of Remediation, Oak Ridge Office 761 Emory Valley Road Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37830



November 20, 2024

Mr. Roger Petrie
Oak Ridge Office of Environmental Management
U.S. Department of Energy
Post Office Box 2001
Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37831

Dear Mr. Petrie

RE: Federal Facility Agreement Milestone Extension Request for the Remedial Investigation Work Plan for White Wing Scrap Yard (Waste Area Grouping 11), Oak Ridge, Tennessee (DOE/OR/01-2970&D2)

The Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC), Division of Remediation-Oak Ridge Office, received the above referenced extension request (letter from J. Hardin and R. Petrie to S. Urquhart-Foster and R. Young) on November 12, 2024. The request has been reviewed pursuant to Section XXX of the Federal Facility Agreement for the Oak Ridge Reservation.

Based on review of the extension request letter, TDEC recognizes that additional time is needed to resolve responses to comments provided by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and TDEC on the Remedial Investigation Work Plan (RIWP) D1. Although the extension request references a Remedial Design/Remedial Action Work Plan (D2/A13/R1), TDEC understands that the U.S. Department of Energy has submitted this extension request to prepare a revised, approvable RIWP D2 document. The State agrees with the good cause for extension included in the request and approves extending the milestone out 60 days from December 27, 2024, until February 25, 2025.

Review of this request meets the review cycle protocol of 14 days. Questions or comments concerning the contents of this letter should be directed to Eileen Marcillo at the above address or by phone at (865) 985-2397.

Sincerely

## Randy Young Digitally signed by Randy Young Date: 2024.11.20 11:28:21 -05'00'

Randy C. Young FFA Project Manager Division of Remediation – Oak Ridge Office

ec: Joanna Hardin – DOE
Morgan Carden – DOE
Alex Schenk – DOE
Sam Scheffler – DOE
Erin Sutton – DOE
Samantha Urquhart-Foster – EPA
Jana Dawson – EPA
Jason Poe – EPA
Tanya Salamacha – UCOR
Sid Garland – UCOR
Adam Johnson – UCOR
Steve Kucera – UCOR
ORSSAB
OREM Mailroom

xc: Wade Creswell – ORRCA Amy Fitzgerald – ORRCA Terry Frank – ORRCA Warren Gooch – ORRCA

