

STATE OF TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND CONSERVATION

Division of Remediation, Oak Ridge Office 761 Emory Valley Road Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37830



June 6, 2023

Mr. Roger Petrie
Oak Ridge Office of Environmental Management
U.S. Department of Energy
Post Office Box 2001
Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37831

Dear Mr. Petrie

RE: Transmittal of the Addendum to the Action Memorandum for the Y-12 Facilities Non-Time-Critical Removal Action Deactivation/Demolition Project, Oak Ridge, Tennessee (DOE/OR/01-2462&D2/A1/R1) – submitted March 17, 2023

The Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC), Division of Remediation-Oak Ridge Office, received the above referenced submittal on March 17, 2023. The document was submitted as an updated draft to a previous version of the same document submitted on February 14, 2023. However, even though changes had been made in the subject (updated) document in response to comments that TDEC transmitted on March 10, 2023, the subject (updated) document included the same Department of Energy (DOE) document number (DOE/OR/01-2462/A1/R1) as the version submitted in February. Within eleven days, DOE subsequently transmitted another updated version (D2/A1/R2) of the subject document as final on March 28, 2023. TDEC provided a comment letter to DOE on April 6, 2023, regarding that March 28 submittal.

TDEC requests additional clarification to determine if the March 17 submittal was intended to replace the February 14 submittal, if the March 17 submittal was a new document that requires review, or if the March 28 submittal superseded the March 17 submittal. Currently, the record is unclear for this proposed removal action.

Questions or comments concerning the contents of this letter should be directed to Angel Perkey at the above address or by phone at (865) 985-6851.

Sincerely

Randy C Young Digitally signed by Randy C Young Date: 2023.06.05 14:13:33 -04'00'

Randy C. Young
FFA Project Manager
Division of Remediation – Oak Ridge Office

ec: Samantha Urquhart-Foster – EPA
Jon Richards – EPA
David Andrews – EPA
Sam Scheffler – DOE
Brian Henry – DOE
Morgan Carden – DOE
Tanya Salamacha – UCOR
Sid Garland – UCOR
ORSSAB
OREM Mailroom
Colby Morgan – TDEC
Chris Thompson – TDEC

Amy Fitzgerald – ORRCA Wade Creswell – ORRCA Amanda Daugherty – ORRCA Terry Frank, ORRCA

XC:

